top of page
  • Writer's picturebeneath the rust

XL Life - The Boogie Down South (1/27/23)

Updated: Feb 4, 2023


I've been anticipating this album since I heard the first few singles "Baby Steps" and "Just Do It". To no surprise, I am a huge supporter of Turnstile. I have from the beginning, and I continue to support the direction they continue to head in. XL Life remind me of the glory days of Turnstile, pre Glow-On. Grooves that are both infectious and unique supporting a style that isn't afraid to branch out and explore new territory. I dig bands that aren't afraid to break the mold of specific genres and try something new. In this case, it works well.

Philopos "Traxx" Davies, the vocalist for XL Life, cut his teeth in the punk/hardcore scene with his former band Asteroid Boys. With this new four-piece, Traxx and his bandmates tackle some of the taboo subjects that are sometimes difficult to express such as working-class backgrounds, mental health, and substance abuse. Check out the especially fantastic song "Baby Steps" which features guest vocalist Bob Vylan, who shares many similar points of view with XL life tackling subjects in his music such as racism and police brutality.





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page