top of page
  • Writer's picturebeneath the rust

Zulu - A New Tomorrow (03/03/23)


If you aren't familiar with the forward thinking hardcore/punk/powerviolence band Zulu, I suspect by the time the year is over, you will. This album..... I'm just blown away. I love the direction that hardcore music has taken in the past few years. I believe that bands like Turnstile, even if you hate them, have helped shape the way that hardcore and punk music can fuse with other genres to make incredibly satisfying music. Zulu is no exception. The band successfully fuses straight up happiness with raw and potent anger. I mean, how can you go wrong with Curtis Mayfield and reggae samples in your mix? As much as I really don't like the magazine Revolver, they did a great review of Zulu right about the time they first started making waves in the scene. Check it out here Meet Zulu: Soul-Infused Powerviolence Band Speaking Anti-Racist Truth | Revolver (revolvermag.com) - their writers can do a much better job than I can. Otherwise, take a listen!



5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page