top of page
  • Writer's picturebeneath the rust

Scalp - Black Tar


Black tar...... that's exactly what I feel like I'm sinking in when I listen to this album, so the short 12-minute banger is aptly named. Helpless, frantic, anxious, doomed. In those short 12 minutes, Scalp manage to obliterate the senses by combining noise, death metal, grindcore, hardcore, and doom. According to guitarist Devan Fuentes, "Black Tar is a very negative outlook on my past life experiences: trauma, addiction, psychosis, losing family members to overdose, personal opinions with religion, and blasphemy. I saw a side of humanity that was pretty disturbing to accept. It’s seeing people’s houses, seeing how they let themselves rot away, and seeing individuals who shouldn’t be alive kept alive just to live in suffering rather than die. The story isn’t about redemption or recovery. It’s very unfiltered judgement, and I wanted to replicate those experiences in the most disturbing way."




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page